Monday, November 2, 2009

Warning: Fake Email From Facebook Team

A new email message (like the one to the right) has been making the rounds.  It claims to be from the Facebook Team, and wants you to click the Update button to update your Facebook account.

Do not do that! 

The email message is a fake.

In my case, Gmail automatically flagged the email as a fake and added that scary warning in red across the top.

If you receive an email like this, and your email service did not flag it as "spam", be wary.

One way to determine that an email might be fake is to hover (without clicking) the mouse pointer over links in an email message.  Such as in the example, the link at "Click here"... it did not point to Facebook's web site.  Plus, in my case, I received that email message through an email address I do not use with Facebook (clue #2).

Here's a link to an article providing more details about this fake email message.
Fake Facebook e-mail contains Trojan
http://news.cnet.com/8301-17939_109-10384028-2.html

On a related topic, here's a link to an article about avoiding malware on Facebook and Twitter.
How to Avoid Malware on Facebook and Twitter: 8 Best Practices
http://www.readwriteweb.com/archives/how_to_avoid_malware_on_facebook_and_twitter_8_best_practices.php

Learn more about Malware:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malware

Learn more about Trojans:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trojan_horse_%28computing%29